Skip to main content

Election Observation

International election observation plays an important role in the promotion of democratisation, human rights and the rule of law. The Department maintains a roster of observers who are available to participate in election observation missions. We nominate observers to missions organised, in the main, by the EU and the OSCE.

On average, the Department sends observers on 12-18 election observation missions (EOMs) per year. Short Term Observers (STOs) are generally in country for 10-14 days, while Long Term Observers (LTOs) can spend 60 days or more observing the election process.

COVID-19 Update

In October 2021, given the progress of Ireland's vaccination programme and the re-opening of non-essential international travel, Ireland resumed nomination of observers to Election Observation Missions organised by the OSCE and the EU.

Nominations are subject to adjudication of duty of care, taking into account national and international travel advice and legislation, which may be subject to ongoing review and change.

Read our FAQs on COVID 19 considerations for EOM participation.

2022 Election Observation Missions

Read our breakdown of missions, flights costs and average flight emissions for 2022

Past Election Observation Missions

In January and February 2020, Ireland sent one LTO and two STOs to observe the parliamentary elections in Azerbaijan. In 2019 Ireland sent 57 individual observers to EU or OSCE election observation missions in: Albania, Belarus, El Salvador, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Malawi, Moldova, Mozambique, North Macedonia, Nigeria, Senegal, Sri Lanka, Tunisia and Ukraine. A listing of missions from 2013-2020 is available here

In November 2021, Ireland sent nine STOs to observe parliamentary elections in the Kyrgyz Republic.

Click on the following links for a breakdown of mission and flights costs and average flight emissions for 2019, 2020 and 2021.

Election Observation Roster

The current election roster was established in January 2019. The roster selection process has now concluded. A number of applicants contacted the Department with questions about the 2018 roster mustering process. Further information is available in the Composite Response. The Department does not accept applications for election observer missions from members of the public who have not been shortlisted to the roster.

The next roster mustering process is not expected to be launched before 2022. Details will be made available on in due course. For data protection reasons we do not hold contact details of persons who wish to be notified about future roster mustering processes, but you can keep in touch by following us on Twitter at @DFAT_Irl.


Election Observers (31 December 2020)

A listing of the elections to which the Department has sent observers since 2013 is available here. We will update this listing periodically.Download PDF (474KB)